Lisa is on a six month student placement with the Healthy Built Environments Program. She is a medical graduate from the University of Western Ontario and is currently undertaking a post graduate internship in public health at the University of British Columbia, Canada. Lisa has a masters in health care and epidemiology from the University of British Columbia, and is trained in family medicine. During her time with the HBEP, Lisa will be working on different research and education/capacity building projects with both A/Professor Susan Thompson and Visiting Professor Tony Capon (the HBEP Co-Directors). She has previously engaged in work on greening healthcare and capacity building in healthy built environments at a health authority level. She is very excited to be joining the Healthy Built Environments Program and to learn more about healthy built environments efforts here in Sydney

What did you do before UNSW?


I was (and still am) in the Community Medicine training program at the University of British Columbia in Vancouver, Canada. This is equivalent to Australia’s public health medicine program. My last placement prior to coming to UNSW was at a local Health Authority, where I assisted in capacity building on the healthy built environment agenda.

Why did you choose this role?

I was interested in understanding how healthy built environment issues are incorporated into the land-use planning process and the role of health authorities within this process.

What do you do at BE?

I will be working in the Healthy Built Environment Program with Susan Thompson and Tony Capon. I will be engaged in the development of educational modules on healthy built environments. In addition, I will help to conceptualize the modelling of health outcomes from different land-use and transportation planning scenarios.

What do you enjoy most about your current role?

I am excited to work with leading experts in healthy built environments, and am particularly looking forward to engaging with an interdisciplinary team.

What do you enjoy doing in your spare time?

I like exploring cafes with friends, leisurely evening bike rides, swimming in lakes and oceans, going on hikes, reading fiction and non-fiction, taichi, dancing, meditation and crafting things with my hands.

One thing people may not know about you?

I’ve had four near-drowning experiences but still love the water!