The UNSW Business School is delighted to announce the establishment of three new prizes to recognise and reward our top performing Dean's List students for the next five years.

Michael Burgess (BCom LLB 1994) has established the Michael Burgess Prize for Dean's List students to recognise outstanding academic excellence and leadership.

Michael grew up in Sydney and was a student at UNSW before working at McKinsey in the Sydney office. As a young man he was encouraged by family and friends to aim high and he says he found UNSW to be the perfect home to foster and encourage his talents. Burgess who went on to study at Stanford and work in major executive roles in the Unites States has always reflected positively on the wonderful time he experienced at UNSW.

"I am delighted to encourage and support our emerging business student leaders at UNSW. UNSW attracts and educates students who are the best not only in Australia but in the world," said Burgess.

The inaugural winners of the Michael Burgess Prize for Dean's List students are:

  • Thomas Zhou, Dean's List Stage 1 co-winner, will receive a cash prize of $750
  • Thomas Jaz Colak, Dean's List Stage 1 co-winner; will receive a cash prize of $750
  • Dilan Sridaran, Dean's List Stage 2 winner; will receive a cash prize of $1,500
  • Artem Churilov, Dean's List Stage 3 winner; will receive a cash prize of $2,500

"My goal in creating these prizes is to support the pursuit of excellence at UNSW and recognize the efforts of these outstanding students. It is important to continue to encourage UNSW students who are the future leaders both in Australia and globally to aim high," noted Burgess.

The winners will be formally congratulated and presented with their award at the 2016 UNSW Business School Awards Ceremony to be held on Wednesday, 1 June 2016.