On World Hepatitis Day 2018, the Centre for Social Research in Health (CSRH) at UNSW Sydney and the National Drug Research Institute (NDRI) at Curtin University are thrilled to announce the winner of the National Competition for Excellence in Hepatitis C Health Promotion, conducted for the first time in 2018.

The goal of the National Competition for Excellence in Hepatitis C Health Promotion was to encourage innovation in the field and to foster the continued development of effective health promotion messages through engagement with research.

The competition attracted lots of interest from people involved in hepatitis C health promotion activities across Australia and produced an extremely strong field of quality entries.

Having struggled to choose between the many great submissions, the judges are pleased to announce the Cairns Hepatitis Action Team (CHAT) Website as the first prize winners for the 2018 competition. They will receive an award of $5,000 to support their excellent work. Visit the CHAT website.

Given the high standard of entries, the judges also decided to award an additional ‘honourable mention’ prize of $1,000. This prize goes to Hepatitis NSW for their hepatitis C health promotion resource, ‘Yarnin’ About Hep C’ – a short booklet for Aboriginal communities. Download the booklet at Hepatitis NSW.

Both groups are recognised here for their efforts in developing effective, creative and research-informed resources that engage affected communities in respectful ways, seeking to improve health outcomes while also tackling stigma.

Please join us in congratulating our winners on their outstanding achievement!

CSRH and NDRI will be holding an event to present the prizes at the upcoming Australasian Viral Hepatitis Conference being held in Adelaide on the 13-15 August. If you are attending the conference, we invite you to also attend this event, which will be held during the Welcome Reception on day one of the conference (please see the conference program for further details).

The judges would like to acknowledge the quality of all the resources submitted to the competition and recognise the effort that went into preparing the submissions and addressing the recommendations that formed the basis for the award (Technical Review Report).

Judging Panel: Panel Chair: Prof Carla Treloar (CSRH, UNSW), Prof Suzanne Fraser (NDRI, Curtin University), Dr Jack Wallace (Burnet Institute), Ms Annie Madden (CSRH, UNSW).