On Friday 7 September we held a prizegiving ceremony in Scientia's Leighton Hall to award high-achieving students who competed in the UNSW 57th Annual School Mathematics Competition. 

The competition, which was run in June, is open to participation by secondary school students in NSW and the ACT and is run in Junior and Senior divisions.

Our staff members Denis Potapov (Director of the Competition), Jim Franklin, Adelle Coster, Wolfgang Schief, Ian Sloan, John Roberts, Vera Roshchina and Donna Salopek formed the official procession for this year's ceremony, and awards were conferred to the high school students by Professor Bruce Henry.

Dr Vera Roshchina gave an inspiring presentation as this year's academic address speaker.

Our alumnus Portia Cerny, Head of Operations and Risk Analytics, Banking & Financial Services at Macquarie Group, delivered this year's occasional address.

A big thank you to Kaye Sedgers for her wonderful efforts in organising this successful event.