More than 100 UNSW Engineering students were celebrated at the Dean’s Awards last night, joined by their family, fellow peers and staff from the Faculty of Engineering.

The awards honour the top undergraduate students based on their academic results from 2018, with two students also receiving Student Services Awards.

Dean of UNSW Engineering, Professor Mark Hoffman, congratulated all the award winners for their “academic brilliance and service to others”. 

He encouraged the students to celebrate all that they’ve achieved so far and to continue to confidently step out from behind technical challenges to consider broader issues and new directions.

“Academic brilliance remains the corner stone of success at UNSW and your academic achievements this year are brilliant. It’s something to be proud of and something to build upon,” Professor Hoffman said.

“So, in the time you have left at UNSW, I encourage you to use your academic achievements as a foundation for something more. More opportunities to lead, to create, to connect.”

This year, the student service awards were presented to Ofir Zeevi from the School of Computer Science and Engineering and Andy Wang from School of Chemical Engineering. These awards recognise students who, in addition to their academic load, have taken on leadership roles.

Ofir Zeevi was honoured as outstanding supporter and contributor throughout his time at the School of Computer Science and Engineering. He has been instrumental in leading the CSE Society (CSESoc) through a significant period of change, increasing enrolments by 66 per cent year-on-year. As Co-President of CSESoc, Ofir's greatest achievement has been securing $50,000 in sponsorship for the society.

Andy Wang was recognised for his dedication and countless hours to a wide range of leadership roles. Whilst serving as President for the newly formed UNSW Engineering Society (ENGSoc), Andy was a key influencer in fostering cohesion and delivering a significant calendar of events and professional development opportunities.

In addition, he has been heavily involved in numerous Student Projects, improving communication between Faculty, Student Project teams and societies.

Master of Ceremonies on the night was Dr Ray Eaton, Associate Dean of Education at UNSW Engineering, and all award recipients were presented their individual awards by the Heads of Schools.

Download the photos from the night here.