The annual CSE Prizes Reception recognises students for outstanding academic performance in previous year. The 2019 event held on Friday, 5 April at Ainsworth G03. Students and their guests, award donors, and industry sponsors enjoyed refreshments and drinks before heading inside for the ceremony.

The Head of School, Professor. Maurice Pagnucco, sponsors and donors presented 135 prizes, with an incredible combined value of $58,000! Awards presented included the Anita Borg Award for contribution to the promotion or enhancement of the benefits of computing to society, including encouraging or facilitating the participation of women in computing and meritorious academic performance. This year’s Anita Borg Award winner was Danni Ovens.

In an inspiring closing speech for the event, special guest Dr. Ian Oppermann gave a ringing endorsement of the Australian digital community. Dr. Oppermann is Chief Data Scientist for the NSW Data Analytic Centre, and a thought leader on the digital economy, “Big Data”, and the impact of technology on society.

Congratulations to the 115 student award winners! A list of all the 2018 winners can be found here.

Prof Maurice Pagnucco
Dr. Ian Oppermann
Gernot Heiser,Trudy Weibel, Danni Ovens