UNSW Law would like to congratulate the recipients of the 2019 PhD Excellence Awards.

Established in 2013 by the Higher Degree Committee, these awards acknowledge UNSW Law’s top PhD candidates who receive two “A’s” from examiners for their PhD thesis.

The recipients of the 2019 round of the Award (together with their topics and supervisors), are as follows:

Armin Alimardani, 'An Empirical Study of the Use of Neuroscientific Evidence in Sentencing in New South Wales, Australia' (supervisors: Gary Edmond/Allan McCay/Marc De Leuuw)

Sophie Burbidge, ’Regulating stored valued facilities in Australia: Review and proposal for reform’ (supervisors: Ross Buckley/Jonathan Bonnitcha/Douglas Arner)

Marie Hadley,’ 'The Politics of Cultural Appropriation Claims and Law Reform’ (supervisors: Kathy Bowrey/Ben Golder)

Mark Hamilton, ‘Restorative Justice Conferencing in Response to Pollution Offending: The Vehicle for the Achievement of Justice as Meaningful Involvement’ (supervisors: Cameron Holley/Jane Bolitho)

Harry Hobbs, ‘Indigenous Aspirations and Democratic Design: Structural Reform in Australia’ (supervisors: George Williams/Megan Davis)

Jessica Hudson, ‘Assuring the Express Trust: The ‘So-Called Beneficiary’s Proprietary Claim’ (supervisors: Simone Degeling/Keith Mason)