The Bulldogs amassed the highest total in a Kingsgrove Cup decider – 6/184 – before bowling the Bees out for just 114 in sweltering conditions at Bankstown Oval.

The 70-run win completed an undefeated campaign for the Bulldogs, whose last major crown was five seasons ago.

They collected $12,000 in Kingsgrove Sports prizemoney, with UNSW taking home $4000.

Skipper Daniel Solway was named player of the match, anchoring his side's innings with a run-a-ball 56 at the top of the order.

"It's been an outstanding campaign. We've faced plenty of challenges over the last couple of years with our Twenty20 cricket but stuck with it," he said. 

"I'm really proud of how everyone played. Every player has made a contribution.

"We will really enjoy this moment."  

UNSW skipper Brandon McLean said:

"We would have liked to have made it a little more competitive but it wasn't to be. Bankstown outplayed us and deserved to win. But we are a young and aspiring club on the rebuild and hopefully we're headed in the right direction."

UNSW won the toss and were soon regretting their decision to bowl first in the 39 degree heat.

Bankstown opener Nick Carruthers clicked into all-out assault mode, cracking 41 from just 15 balls to set the tone.

He blasted four sixes and three boundaries before swinging across the line to be caught behind in the fourth over.

No.3 Zeeshaan Ahmed (26 from 13) kept up the momentum as the Bulldogs reached the end of the power play in total command at 1/76.

The Bees were able to apply the brakes temporarily as the field spread following Ahmed's dismissal, but the hosts quickly regained momentum.

With Solway acting as the rock, Jake Cormack (28 from 23) and Daniel Nicotra (17 from nine) made valuable contributions as Bankstown passed the previous best total in a T20 final – Randwick-Petersham's 5-181 in the 2011-12 decider against Sydney University.

UNSW spinner Suthangan Thanabalasingam was the pick of the Bees' bowlers, collecting 2-22 from his four overs.

Bankstown's bowling unit, backed up by some excellent fielding, then did the rest.

The visitors went hard to bring the run rate down to a manageable level but lost wickets on a regular basis.

Left-arm spinner Ben Taylor (3-26) rounded off a superb T20 campaign, while Ben Le Bas (2-23), Brad Simpson (2-15), (Aaron Bird (1-6) and Mitch Brown (1-13) offered terrific support.

Full scorecard can be found here.

This story originally appeared on the Cricket NSW website.