The NSW Premier’s History Awards were first presented in 1997 to honour distinguished achievement in history by Australian citizens and permanent residents. The awards celebrate the contribution of historical research to our culture and communities, and to humanity at large. They encourage everyone to appreciate and learn from the efforts of our historians. The NSW Premier’s History Awards are administered by the State Library of NSW in association with Create NSW.

Congratulations to the following Historians in the School of Humanities and Languages:

  • Mina Roces has been shortlisted for the General History Prize for her book - The Filipino Migration Experience: Global Agents of Change (Cornell University Press 2021)
  • Emma Christopher was “Highly Commended” for the Digital History prize for her film - “We the Cimarrons” (documentary film, 2021)
  • Grace Karskens, Leanne Mulgo Watson, Erin Wilson, Jasmine Seymour and Rhiannon Wright were also “Highly Commended” for the Digital History Prize for - “Dyarubbin - Mapping Aboriginal History, Culture and Stories of the Hawkesbury River, NSW