The 2022 NSW Materials Australia students presentation competition was held on the 2nd of November in the Hilmer Building at UNSW.

8 student speakers and 4 poster presenters were undergraduate students nominated by their schools from Western Sydney University, University of Newcastle, University of Wollongong and the University of New South Wales. Like previous years, UNSW Materials did extremely well in this competition. Our students all delivered excellent presentations and took home the first, second and fifth presentation prizes as well as the first poster award.First Prize Oral Presentation $500, sponsored by Frank Soto CMatP, Soto Consulting Engineers was awarded to Hubert Lee, UNSW Materials for his presentation on “Direct Reduction of Iron Ore by Hydrogen”. Hubert did his honours thesis with Prof. Jianqiang Zhang. First Prize Poster Presentation $300, sponsored by Dr Phillip Carter CMatP, Kestrel Capital was awarded to Jodie Mann, also from UNSW Materials, for her poster “Canister (HIPed)-Wasteform Interactions in Synroc Ceramic Wasteforms”. Jodie is doing her honours thesis with A/Prof. Pramod Koshy.

Second Prize Oral Presentation $400, sponsored by Dr Sam Moricca CMatP, Gravitas Technologies went to Marcus Miljak, UNSW Materials, for his presentation on “Portable EDXRD Mineralogical Analyser for Lunar Applications”, and Fifth Prize Oral Presentation $100, sponsored by Alyssa Taylor, Taylor Ceramic Engineering was awarded to Gabi Moss, UNSW Materials, for her presentation on “Thermomechanical Behaviours of Copper Conducting Rods for the Aluminium Smelting Industry”. Marcus and Gabi are both doing their honours theses, Marcus is supervised by A/Prof. Pramod Koshy and Gabi is supervised by A/Prof. Sophie Primig and Dr Ehsan Farabi.

Third Prize Oral Presentation $300, sponsored by Hasan Kanji, United Steel was awarded to Trang Ngo, University of Wollongong, for her presentation on Characterisation of ternary carbides for high temperature furnace heating element and Fourth Prize Oral Presentation $100, sponsored by Australian Centre for Neutron Scattering, ANSTO, went to Wendy Ji, UNSW Mechanical Eng, for her presentation on “Numerical simulations of the laser metal deposition (LMD) process for the prediction of residual stresses and distortion”. Second Prize Poster Presentation $200, sponsored by Dr Phillip Carter CMatP, Kestrel Capital was awarded to Juan Avila Molina, UNSW Mechanical Eng., for his poster “On the development of data-driven models for the prediction of the high-temperature fatigue life in superalloys”.

Congratulations Hubert, Jodie, Marcus and Gabi for your excellent presentations and the well-deserved awards - You made our school proud! 

Dr Nima Haghdadi