We are proud to report that Mathematics Honours student Tiana Tsang Ung has been selected to attend the 10th Heidelberg Laureate Forum to be held in Heidelberg, Germany, over five days in September 2023.

One of the most prestigious networking conferences for young researchers in mathematics and computer science, the HLF facilitates interaction between 200 carefully selected young researchers and laureates of the disciplines. These include recipients of the Abel Prize, ACM A.M. Turing Award, ACM Prize in Computing, Fields Medal and Nevanlinna Prize.

Established in 2013, the HLF is organised annually by the Heidelberg Laureate Forum Foundation.

Applicants are subject to a highly competitive selection process, hand-picked by international experts who are appointed by the following award-granting institutions: The Association for Computing Machinery, the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters, and the International Mathematical Union. Each successfully completed application is reviewed by at least three international reviewers, with the top 100 candidates in each discipline issued an invitation.

Mathematics PhD candidate Yudhi Bunjamin was selected to attend the 9th annual HLF in 2022. 

Tiana Tsang Ung is a 5th year Advanced Mathematics and Computer Science student who recently commenced Honours in Pure Mathematics, under the supervision of Professor Catherine Greenhill. Her thesis will focus on the topic of expander graphs. In the past she has worked on constructing combinatorial designs using computer searches, as part of an AMSI Vacation Research Project with Dr Thomas Britz.

Tiana has contributed to past School of Mathematics and Statistics outreach initiatives, including featuring on the Do The Maths student Q&A panels in 2022 and 2023. Tiana also works as a research assistant on formal verification in the School of Computer Science and Engineering's Trustworthy Systems group.  

A very big congratulations to Tiana for this impressive achievement! We wish her all the very best for her trip to Heidelberg.

Tiana Tsang Ung UNSW 2023