The Andrews Lectureship at the University of New South Wales was conceived and developed by Professor Stephen Angyal and established with a generous contribution from Dr Andrew Ungar, after whom the series was named. 

Through the very substantial support of his widow, Beryl Ungar, along with continuing efforts of Professor Angyal and contributions from chemists throughout Australia, it is now an endowed lectureship of the University of New South Wales Chemical Society.

The lectures began in 1960 to bring eminent lecturers to UNSW to deliver a series of talks.

In the early days four lectures were given, but given this became onerous it was reduced to three.

The lectures are delivered by distinguished visiting scientists on subjects in chemistry or biochemistry which bear some relation to biological activity.

Previous Andrews lecturers:

1960       Ewart R. H. Jones, University of Oxford

1961       Carl Djerassi, Stanford University

1962       Franz Sondheimer, Weizmann Institute of Science

1964       Vlado Prelog, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Zürich

1965       William S. Johnson, Stanford University

1968       Konrad E. Bloch, Harvard University

1970       John W. Cornforth, Milstead Laboratory of Chemical Enzymology

1974       Ernest Wenkert, Rice University

1975       Alan R. Battersby, University of Cambridge

1976       Sir Derek H. R. Barton, Imperial College of Science and Technology

1978       Jerrold Meinwald, Cornell University

1979       A. Ian Scott, Texas A and M University

1982       Kenneth L. Rinehart Jr., University of Illinois

1984       Heinz A. Staab, Max Planck Institute for Medical Research

1985       Ralph A. Raphael, University of Cambridge

1988       Charles W. Rees, Imperial College of Science and Technology

1990       Dieter Seebach, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Zürich

1992       Teruaki Mukaiyama, Science University of Tokyo

1994       Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Université Louis Pasteur

1997       Kyriacos C. Nicolaou, Scripps Research Institute

2000       François Diederich, Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule, Zürich

2002       Steven V. Ley, University of Cambridge

2004       George Whitesides, Harvard University

2005       Michael Paddon-Row, University of New South Wales

2009       Samuel Stupp, Northwestern University

2011       Ben Feringa, University of Groningen

2013       Eric Jacobsen, Harvard University

2016       Keiji Maruoka, Kyoto University

2018       Margaret Brimble, University of Auckland

Dr Andrew Ungar UNSW