University Council

The University is governed by a Council of 15 members representing University and community interests and led by the Chancellor. The President and Vice-Chancellor is the principal executive officer of the University and is responsible for the overall direction of corporate planning, budget activities and external relations. Under the Council, the President and Vice-Chancellor manages and supervises the administrative, financial and other activities of the University. 

Academic Board

The Academic Board is the principal academic body of the University, responsible for academic standards and for formulating and recommending policy. The policy areas relate to functions conferred on the Academic Board under the By-law: student academic and student conduct (including disciplinary) matters; student admission, including special admission schemes; and the award of postgraduate research degrees.

University management

The Management Board of the University, led by the President and Vice-Chancellor, and comprises UNSW Provost, Deputy Vice-Chancellors and Vice-Presidents.

The Senior Leadership Team is the key executive body for the President and Vice-Chancellor with a focus on guiding and ensuring strategic and operational delivery.

The Leadership Forum is a key engagement body for the President and Vice-Chancellor that comprises senior leaders across the University at an academic and professional level. It is a forum for discussion and debate of issues, initiatives and for information sharing about University activities. The Leadership Forum meets monthly.

Other Senior Officers of the University include the Vice-Presidents, the President of the Academic Board, the faculty Deans, the Rector of UNSW Canberra at the Australian Defence Force Academy, and the Pro Vice-Chancellors.

UNSW Organisation Chart

View a pdf chart of the key strategic positions within the UNSW leadership team:

UNSW Organisation Chart