The school’s Industry Advisory Board is an integral part of its management structure and provides a link with a key stakeholder group. Its purpose is:

  1. to contribute to the strategic direction for teaching and research by reviewing and providing industry input to undergraduate course content, research directions, recruitment and staffing, and to provide support for student recruitment and scholarships
  2. to provide an external stakeholder voice with Government to influence investment and priorities with regard to facilities and equipment and research grant programs
  3. to act as an industry network that the school can use to test ideas and seek advice.


Industry Advisory Board members

Mrs Cathy Inglis (Chair)

General Manager – Innovation and Building Solutions


Mr Steve Kennedy

Head of NPI

Cochlear Limited

Dr Adam Berkovich

Manager – Smelting Technical Support, 
Transformation and Technical Support –
Pacific Operations Aluminium

Rio Tinto

Professor Lyndon Edwards

National Director, Australian Generation IV
International Forum Research


Dr Jason Hodges

Open Innovation Manager

BlueScope Research

Mr Michael Gow

Technical and Quality Manager

PGH Bricks & Pavers

Mr Michiel Freislich

Director, Energy and Environment, Iron and Steel


Dr Edward Humphries

Director, Applied Materials Technology Group

Weir Minerals

Dr George Melhem

Managing Director

Perfect Engineering

Ms Holstein Wong

Key Account Manager

Schneider Electric

Mr Andrew Petersen


Sustainable Business Australia

Mr Sean Windred

Senior Materials Engineer



Michael Ferry

Head of School

School of Materials Science & Engineering, Hilmer Building (E10), UNSW Sydney, Australia

02 9385 4453

Owen Standard

Senior Lecturer

Room 216, School of Materials Science & Engineering

+61 2 9385 4437

Lucy Zhang

School Manager

Room 138, Hilmer Building E10

+61 2 9065 9504