Law & Justice Advisory Council

UNSW Law & Justice Advisory Council is a volunteer leadership body that helps shape the strategic direction of the faculty’s programs and engagement activities.

One male and one female solicitor talking at an office desk

The Council is comprised of a diverse range of alumni who are leaders in the profession and beyond – working in the judiciary or government roles, commercial law firms, at the private bar, community organisations or in other industries.

Advisory Council roles

The responsibilities of the members include:

  • providing advice and support to assist in the fundraising efforts of UNSW Law & Justice
  • facilitating and promoting partnerships with the faculty
  • assisting UNSW Law & Justice to maintain and develop its reputation among alumni and external stakeholders 
  • acting as an ambassador for UNSW Law & Justice students 
  • providing broad strategic advice and an external perspective on the work of the faculty and proposals brought before the Council. 


There are between 15 and 20 members on the Advisory Council, including the Chair. Membership is determined by the Dean and the Chair. The Chair is appointed by the Dean and oversees the organisation and affairs of the Council. The Chair makes recommendations to improve the Council’s usefulness to the faculty and the university.





Stuart Fuller (Chair)

Head of Global Legal Services, KPMG International

Asia Pacific Regional Leader for Legal Services


Professor Andrew Lynch


UNSW Law & Justice

Rebecca Spigelman


Gilbert & Tobin

Wissam Abwi  



Cassandra Goldie

Chief Executive Officer

Australian Council of Social Service

James Hooke

Senior Managing Director

Macquarie Group

Nikki Lawless Acting Commissioner Health Care Complaints Commission

Bruce MacDiarmid

Chairman, Corporate Advisory, Australia & New Zealand

Goldman Sachs

Sandy Mak

Head of Corporate

Corrs Chambers Westgarth

Ross McInnes


Clayton Utz

Andrew Pike

Executive Partner

Herbert Smith Freehills

Julian Schimmel


Maurice Blackburn

Michael Sirmai

COO and Co-Founder


Paul Smith Partner King & Wood Mallesons

Simun Soljo



The Hon. Gabrielle Upton

Former NSW Government Minister and Attorney General

Board Member

Australian Research Council Centre of Excellence in Quantum Biotechnology
Kathryn Viegas

Director and Principal Solicitor

Nomos Group

Jennifer Mar Young


Career Trackers