Our postgraduate research team are experienced academic staff that offer advice and guidance on our courses and research. If you have any queries about your program or studying with us, reach out to one of the relevant contacts listed below.

UNSW Graduate Research School (GRS)

The UNSW Graduate Research School (GRS) is the central unit responsible for Higher Degree Research (HDR) candidates and supervisors.

UNSW Medicine & Health

For general enquiries relating to postgraduate research, contact our team at UNSW Medicine & Health.

Associate Dean of Postgraduate Research Training, UNSW Medicine & Health

Professor Jeff Holst 
Postgraduate Coordinator 

E: j.holst@unsw.edu.au

Professor Bettina Meiser 
Postgraduate Coordinator 

E: b.meiser@unsw.edu.au

Edwina McCauley 
HDR Coordinator 
E: postgraduate.powcs@unsw.edu.au

Kara Jacob 
HDR Coordinator 
E: postgraduate.powcs@unsw.edu.au

Dr Linda Ferrington 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
l.ferrington@unsw.edu.au

Sonia Kao 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
song-yun.kao@unsw.edu.au 

Joanna Ryan 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
joanna.ryan@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Pascal Carrive 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
p.carrive@unsw.edu.au

Dr Nicole Jones 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
n.jones@unsw.edu.au

Laura Derkenne 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
somshdr@unsw.edu.au

Jane Natasha 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
somshdr@unsw.edu.au

Lachlan Gray
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
lachlan.gray@unsw.edu.au

Lachlan Gray
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
lachlan.gray@unsw.edu.au

Felix Kohane
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
f.kohane@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Maria Markoulli 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
m.markoulli@unsw.edu.au

Vicky Sawatt 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
hdr-postgrad.optm@unsw.edu.au

Ina Ismail 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
hdr-postgrad.optm@unsw.edu.au

Rebecca Dang
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
 r.dang@student.unsw.edu.au

Suki Jaiswal
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
s.jaiswal@student.unsw.edu.au

Hashim Khan
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
h.khan@student.unsw.edu.au

Nicole Xiao Liu
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
xiao.liu1@student.unsw.edu.au

Umme Laila Urmi
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
m.urmi@student.unsw.edu.au

Madeeha Afzal
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
m.afzal@unsw.edu.au

Nicole Xiao Liu
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
n.liu@bhvi.org

Binod Rayamajhee
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
b.rayamajhee@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor James Wood (Thesis Examinations & Scholarships) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
james.wood@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Sally Nathan (Admissions & Candidature) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
s.nathan@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor David Heslop (DrPH PGC) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
d.heslop@unsw.edu.au

Dr Blessing Akombi-Inyang (DrPH PGC) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
b.akombi@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Xiaoqi Feng (HDR Training PGC) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
xiaoqi.feng@unsw.edu.au

Laura Derkenne 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
resdegree-sphcm@unsw.edu.au

Jane Natasha 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
resdegree-sphcm@unsw.edu.au

Liam Acheson
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
l.achedon@unsw.edu.au

Lloyd Chan
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
l.chan@neura.edu.au

Bianca Varney
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
b.varney@student.unsw.edu.au

Dae Uk Han
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
daeuk.han@unsw.edu.au

Christel Macdonald
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
c.m.macdonald@unsw.edu.au

Dr Karen Mather 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
karen.mather@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Jane Kohlhoff 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
jane.kohlhoff@unsw.edu.au

Dr Simone Reppermund 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
s.reppermund@unsw.edu.au

Sonia Kao 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
MED.Psychiatry.PostGrad@unsw.edu.au

Joanna Ryan 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
MED.Psychiatry.PostGrad@unsw.edu.au

Sophie Debs
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
s.debs@unsw.edu.au

Daniel Gan
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
danielzq.gan@unsw.edu.au

Delyse McCaffrey
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
d.mccaffrey@neura.edu.au

Daniel Gan
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
danielzq.gan@unsw.edu.au

Marina Ulanova
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
m.ulanova@student.unsw.edu.au

Echo Mei Xu
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
echo.xu@unsw.edu.au

Professor Richard Lock (Paediatrics and Children’s Cancer) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
richard.lock@unsw.edu.au

Professor Alec Welsh (Obstetrics and Gynaecology) 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
alec.welsh@unsw.edu.au

Edwina McCauley 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
swch-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Kara Jacob 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
swch-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Anya Jensen
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
a.jensen@unsw.edu.au

Alexis Minchaca Acosta
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
aminchacaacosta@ccia.org.au

Filip Michniewicz
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
f.michniewicz@unsw.edu.au

Irene Sucquart
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
i.sucquart@unsw.edu.au

Aria Ahmed-Cox (hononary member)
Candidate Higher Degree Committee
E:
a.ahmed-cox@unsw.edu.au

Jessica Gereis (honorary member)
Candidate Higher Degree Committee
E:
j.gereis@unsw.edu.au

Farah Akram
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
f.akram@unsw.edu.au

Jessica Gereis
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
j.gereis@unsw.edu.au

Anya Jensen
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
a.jensen@unsw.edu.au

Nisha Matthew
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
n.mathew@unsw.edu.au

Dr Roberto Forero 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
r.forero@unsw.edu.au

Edwina McCauley 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
sws-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Kara Jacob 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
sws-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Akshay Flora
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
a.flora@unsw.edu.au

Heena Sareen
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
h.sareen@student.unsw.edu.au

Professor Georgina Hold 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
georgina.hold@unsw.edu.au

Sonia Kao 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
stg-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Joanna Ryan 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
stg-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Alisha Sial
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
a.sial@unsw.edu.au

Associate Professor Mark Danta 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
m.danta@unsw.edu.au

Sonia Kao 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
stvpostgrad@unsw.edu.au

Joanna Ryan 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
stg-hdr@unsw.edu.au

Marcel Schulz
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
m.schulz@unsw.edu.au

Allegra Freelander
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
a.freelander@garvan.org.au

Jemma Rezitis
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
j.rezitis@unsw.edu.au

Marcel Schulz
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
m.schulz@unsw.edu.au

Professor Maree Hackett 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
mhackett@georgeinstitute.org.au

Associate Professor Jason Wu 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
jwu1@georgeinstitute.org.au

Liz Jenson 
Postgraduate Administrator 
E:
EJenson@georgeinstitute.org.au

Thomas Gadsden
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
tcgadsden@student.unsw.edu.au

Vikash Keshri
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
v.keshri@unsw.edu.au

Anthony Sunjaya (honorary member)
Candidate Higher Degree Committee
E:
a.sunjaya@unsw.edu.au

Jayson Catiwa
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
jcatiwa@georgeinstitute.org.au

Associate Professor David Regan  
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
dregan@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Dr Chantelle Ahlenstiel 
Postgraduate Coordinator 
E:
cahlenstiel@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Vicky Sawatt 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
kirbypostgrad@unsw.edu.au

Ina Ismail 
HDR Coordinator 
E:
kirbypostgrad@unsw.edu.au

Curtis Chan
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
cchan@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Joyce Huei-Jiuan Wu
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
jjwu@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Ellen Bowden-Reid
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
ebowdenreid@kirby.unsw.edu.au

Haley Stone
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
h.stone@student.unsw.edu.au

Harrison Hansford
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
h.hansford@unsw.edu.au

Grant Holmes
Candidate Higher Degree Committee representative
E:
g.holmes@unsw.edu.au

Imtiaz Desai
Health and Wellbeing Ambassador
E:
i.desai@unsw.edu.au