The UNSW Business School Advisory Council is an external, expert and experienced group of industry practitioners who advise the Dean and serve as a reference point for the Business School. The Council ensures that our programs and courses are relevant in today's changing business environment.

The Advisory Council assists the Business School to carry out its vision of being recognised globally as a leading research-intensive business school renowned for its students and staff, teaching quality, relevance and innovation.

Business Advisory Council members are leaders in industry and government who commit to a program of active engagement with the Business School, based on the Council’s Terms of Reference. They are committed to ensuring that the Business School realises its vision of becoming a leading centre for business education and research in the Asia-Pacific region.

Membership is by invitation only and there are up to 45 members, many of whom are chairs or chief executives of major organisations.

The Council lends its energy, experience and influence in pursuit of our Business School's mission and plays an active role in developing and implementing UNSW’s 2025 Strategy.

The Council enables the School to: 

  • Increase its engagement with business (and vice versa) 
  • Increase the relevance of its curriculum and research agendas 
  • Build links between the Business School and its stakeholders 
  • Raise and build the profile of the Business School's brand and reputation 
  • Engage with students and alumni 

Advisory Council members

    • Chair: Commissioner Chris Jordan AO: Commissioner, Australian Taxation Office 
    • Deputy Chair: Graham Bradley AM: Chair, HSBC Bank Australia Limited 
    • Immediate Past Chair: Nicholas Moore: Former CEO, Macquarie Group Limited 
    • Christine Bartlett: Non Executive Director, Mirvac, Reliance Worldwide, Tal Australia, Sigma Healthcare and icare NSW
    • Guido Belgiorno-Nettis AM: Managing Director, Angophora Capital Pty Ltd and Transfield Holdings 
    • Graham Bradley AM: Chair, HSBC Bank Australia Limited 
    • Connie Carnabuci: Non Executive Director OFX, Non Executive Director Sydney Children’s Hospitals Foundation, Chair, Media & Communications Law Committee, Business Law Section, Law Council of Australia.
    • Marc de Cure: Chair of Advisory Board, ARC Centre of Excellence in Population Ageing Research (CEPAR) and Adjunct Professor, UNSW 
    • Robyn Denholm: Board Chair & Audit & Compensation Committee, Tesla
    • Ellen Derrick: Managing Partner, Deloitte Consulting Australia
    • Michael Ellis: Senior Partner, McKinsey & Company 
    • Peter Farrell AM: Founder & Chair, ResMed, Inc. 
    • Patrick Forth: Senior Advisor, Digital and AI, Boston Consulting Group; and Chair, Teach for Australia
    • Marina Go: Chair, Adore Beauty; Non Executive Director, EnergyAustralia, Transurban
    • Catherine Harris AO PSM: Director and Chair, Harris Farm Markets 
    • Tony Johnson: Director and Adviser, Bupa ANZ, E&P Financial, Fujitsu ANZ, ABCN and Kieser Australia 
    • Kerrie Mather: CEO, Venues NSW 
    • Nicholas Moore: Former CEO, Macquarie Group Limited, Special Envoy for Southeast Asia 
    • James Stevens: CEO, Mr Roses 
    • Deanne Stewart: CEO, Aware Super
    • Clive Stiff: Non-Executive Director GrainCorp Ltd
    • Guy Templeton: CEO, Asia Pacific, WSP 
    • David Tudehope: Chief Executive, Macquarie Telecom Group Limited 
    • Vanessa Wallace: Non Executive Director, Wesfarmers, SEEK and Doctor Care Anywhere
    • Su-Ming Wong: CEO, CHAMP Ventures Pty Limited 
    • Andrew Yates:  Chief Executive Officer, KPMG Australia

Advisory Council Terms of Reference 

The Advisory Council assists UNSW Business School in carrying out its vision of being globally-recognised as a leading research-intensive business school. It helps maintains that our School is renowned for its students and staff, teaching quality, relevance and innovation.

The Advisory Council supports the Business School’s objectives to deliver excellent teaching and scholarship and, on its ability, to: 

  • Contribute to the bodies of knowledge that comprise the disciplines of business, management and economics 
  • Leverage our understanding of these bodies of knowledge to have an impact on the practice of management and the professions 
  • Accept responsibility for developing future generations of business scholars and leaders


Advisory Council members are leaders in business and government who seek to facilitate the achievement of UNSW Business School’s objectives by leveraging their professional networks, profile, reputation, experience and influence to:

  • Serve as a source of independent advice to the Dean regarding strategy and external engagement 
  • Increase two-way engagement with the business, government and the wider community 
  • Increase the relevance of our curriculum and research agendas 
  • Build links between the Business School and its other stakeholders 
  • Raise the profile of, and build, the Business School brand and reputation 
  • Engage with students and alumni 

Mode of Operation 

The Advisory Council achieves its objectives by convening as a collective body three times a year and by breaking into ad hoc committees and working parties as required. Advisory Council members commit to an annual program of active engagement with UNSW Business School.

This program would typically include one or more of the following activities: 

  • Direct engagement with the Business School student body (either in the classroom or in other fora) 
  • Serving on Business School reference or advisory groups or research centre boards 
  • Serving on a task force or working party to examine a specific issue 
  • Recruitment of graduating undergraduate and graduate students 
  • Support of executive development and corporate education programs 
  • Developing and hosting events such as symposia, fora, conferences 
  • Hosting Alumni networking and professional development events 
  • Participating in fundraising and sponsorship activities 

Membership Terms 

There are up to 45 members of the Advisory Council, including the Chair and the Deputy Chair. The Dean appoints the Chair and the Deputy Chair from the Council membership. Membership of the Advisory Council is determined by the Dean, in consultation with the Chair. Although Council members may be alumni, this is not a prerequisite for nomination. Council Members are appointed for three-year terms, which may be renewed. 

The Chair oversees the organisation and affairs of the Council and is responsible for keeping the Council informed on all Council matters. The Deputy Chair assists with the duties of the Chair as required. The Chair makes recommendations to increase the Council’s usefulness to the Business School and the University.