Australian Journal of Management

The Australian Journal of Management (AJM) is an international peer-reviewed journal that publishes research in accounting, auditing and assurance, finance, human resource management, marketing, international business, organisational behaviour and strategy, provided the application is to management. 

The journal was founded by The Australian Graduate School of Management in 1976. Its foundation editor was Ray Ball, followed by Chris Adam, John Conybeare, the late Vic Taylor, Phillip Yetton, John Roberts, and Robert Marks, Baljit Sidhu and Jane Baxter. 

The AJM is currently ranked 120 of 153 for Business and 169 of 226 for Management. Its Impact Factor is 2.422 and 5-Year Impact factor is 2.253. In the Australian Research Council's Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) AJM is ranked as a tier A journal. 

The Editor-in-Chief of the Australian Journal of Management is Andrew Jackson. The journal is published four times a year by SAGE Journals. 

Journal Issues 

Read the current issue and access past issues of the Australian Journal of Management. 

Read more

Scope of Submissions 

The Australian Journal of Management is interested in original, innovative and highly rigorous research. The domain of study (be it defined by country, management problem, or methodological approach) is much less important than quality and interest to both an academic readership and, preferably, a sophisticated practitioner one.

To be of interest to this journal, a submission would need a compelling motivation that would generalise to a wide audience, with strong theoretical basis with good empirical design, or offer a strong advance in theory.     


Guide to Submissions 

Please contact Sussanne Nottage for Initial enquiries about publishing in the Australian Journal of Management.


Call for Papers 


Special Issues in Progress 


Starting this year, the Australian Journal of Management has established an outstanding reviewer prize, one in the area of accounting and finance and one for other disciplines. The award is based on nominations by the Associate Editors for reviews undertaken in the previous year, with the criteria being the number of reviews completed, turnaround time and most importantly, the quality of reviews.

2020 Winners 
Sarah Wright, University of Canterbury, New Zealand
Jing Yu, The University of Sydney, Australia

The Australian Journal of Management awards a prize for the most outstanding paper published during the previous year. From 2019, the award has been renamed in honour of Ray Ball, who was the founding editor of the journal in 1976. The journal has named the award in recognition of both his contribution to the broad management academic community, but also his involvement in the setting up of the journal. 

2020 Winner 
Anya Johnson, Shanta Dey, Helena Nguyen, Markus Groth, Sadhbh Joyce, Leona Tan, Nicholas Glozier, Samuel B Harvey, A review and agenda for examining how technology-driven changes at work will impact workplace mental health and employee well-being Volume 45 (3), 2020, pp. 402-424

2020 Runner-up 
Andrew Grant, Luke Deer, Consumer marketplace lending in Australia: Credit scores and loan funding success Volume 45 (4), 2020, pp. 607-623

2019 Winner 
Anna Loyeung, The role of boutique financial advisors in mergers and acquisitions Volume 44 (2), 2019, pp. 212-247

2019 Runner-up 
Cynthia Cai, Jennifer Gippel, Yushu Zhu and Abhay Singh, The power of crowds: Grand challenges in the Asia Pacific Region Volume 44 (4), 2019, pp. 551-570

2018 Winner 
Ron Bird, Doug Foster, Jack Gray, Adrian M Raftery, Susan Thorp and Danny Yeung, Who starts a self-managed superannuation fund and why? Volume 43 (3), 2018, pp. 476-492 

2018 Runner-up 
Simon Torp and Bo Bernhard Nielsen, Psychological ownership and financial firm performance Volume 43 (3), 2018, pp. 201-223