Advertised Taste of Research areas

Engineering 2nd and 3rd year students can apply for a project in the below advertised research areas.

If you are interested in this topic, please contact the relevant supervisor via email and discuss your interest – please introduce yourself and attach both your CV and transcript in the email.

We strongly encourage you to contact the relevant supervisor before the 7th April 2021, to give your supervisor and yourself sufficient time to formulate a sound project plan. This is mandatory and must be submitted as part of your application.

Bubble Coalescence in Non-ionic Surfactant Solutions in the Presence of Salt

Supervisory Team:
  • Ghislain Bournival (g.bournival@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Mineral Processing

Description of field of research:

Froth flotation is the most used process in the mineral processing industry for concentrating minerals. It is fundamentally used to separate valuable particles from unwanted gangue. Valuable particles, which are rendered hydrophobic with the use of…

Carbon-based catalysts for electrochemical H2O2 generation

Supervisory Team:
  • Zhaojun Han (zhaojun.han@unsw.edu.au)
  • Xunyu Lu (xunyu.lu@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Energy

Description of field of research:

Low-cost and efficient catalysts for on-site production of valuable chemicals, such as H2O2, is of great interest in chemical industry. In this project, carbon-based catalysts, particularly vertical graphene, will be implemented for electrochemical H2O2…

Characterisation of Oxide Quality for Silicon Quantum Dot Devices

Supervisory Team:
  • Andrew Dzurak (a.dzurak@unsw.edu.au)
  • Wee Han Lim (wee.lim@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Computing

Description of field of research:

Due to their similarity to conventional CMOS devices and their ability to leverage existing industrial technology and know-how, quantum dot devices in silicon hold immense potential for the realisation of full-scale quantum computers. In these MOS…

Cryogenic Electronics for Quantum Computing

Supervisory Team:
  • Andrea Morello (a.morello@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Engineering

Description of field of research:

The research pertains the testing, operation and characterisation of an amplifier chain designed to operate at cryogenic (below 1 kelvin) temperatures, and used for the real-time readout of solid-state quantum bits. The student will design and perform…

Developing Automated Speech Annotation Methods

Supervisory Team:
  • Beena Ahmed (beena.ahmed@unsw.edu.au)
  • Mostafa Shahin (m.shahin@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Digital Signal Processing

Description of field of research:

Recent advances in speech science mean that applications of automatic speech recognition (ASR) have become essential attributes of mainstream mobile devices and consumer electronics. Voice assistants and speech biometrics all developed from large speech…

Electrostatic Modelling of Silicon Qubit Devices

Supervisory Team:
  • Chris Escott (c.escott@unsw.edu.au)
  • Andre Saraiva (a.saraiva@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Computing

Description of field of research:

Adapting industrial CMOS technology to silicon-CMOS quantum dot qubit device fabrication is a promising road towards full-scale quantum computers. Devices currently used for successful demonstration of 1- and 2-qubit gates possess strong similarities to…

Join the Group: Socially Aware Mobile Robots Navigation to Approach Groups

Supervisory Team:
  • Dr Wafa Johal (wafa.johal@unsw.edu.au)
  • Prof. Claude Sammut (c.sammut@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Robotics and Human-Robot Interaction

Description of field of research:

Enabling robots to navigate in indoors environments in a safe and socially acceptable manner around groups of humans is still an open research area. Socially aware navigation considers the multi-modal assessment of the group dynamics, group formation…

Matching Algorithms with Distributional Constraints

Supervisory Team:
  • Haris Aziz (haris.aziz@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Algorithms
  • Game theory

Description of field of research:

Centralized matching market design is one of the success stories of algorithmic game theory. This project concerns two-sided matching that captures the setting where students have preferences over schools, schools have priorities over students, and the…

Monitoring Bushfires from Space

Supervisory Team:
  • Linlin Ge (l.ge@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Information Technology

Description of field of research:

Australia has a vast geographic extent. Because of the impact of climate change, major disasters such as bushfire, flood and tropical cyclones will be more severe and more frequent. Therefore, there is much more satellite remote sensing technologies can…

Next Generation Biomedical Technologies

Supervisory Team:
  • Susann Beier (s.beier@unsw.edu.au)
  • Ray Tapabrata (t.Ray@adfa.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Biomedical Flow and Devices

Description of field of research:

There is a high demand for mechanical engineers to develop and improve medical devices and to understand underlying biomedical fluid mechanics principals. During your Taste of Research placement you will have the opportunity to be exposed to a range of…