Advertised Taste of Research areas

Engineering 2nd and 3rd year students can apply for a project in the below advertised research areas.

If you are interested in this topic, please contact the relevant supervisor via email and discuss your interest – please introduce yourself and attach both your CV and transcript in the email.

We strongly encourage you to contact the relevant supervisor before the 9th August 2021, to give your supervisor and yourself sufficient time to formulate a sound project plan. This is mandatory and must be submitted as part of your application.

Carbon-based catalysts for electrochemical H2O2 generation

Supervisory Team:
  • Zhaojun Han (zhaojun.han@unsw.edu.au)
  • Xunyu Lu (xunyu.lu@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Energy

Description of field of research:

Low-cost and efficient catalysts for on-site production of valuable chemicals, such as H2O2, is of great interest in chemical industry. In this project, carbon-based catalysts, particularly vertical graphene, will be implemented for electrochemical…

Cryogenic Electronics for Quantum Computing

Supervisory Team:
  • Andrea Morello (a.morello@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Engineering

Description of field of research:

The research pertains the testing, operation and characterisation of an amplifier chain designed to operate at cryogenic (below 1 kelvin) temperatures, and used for the real-time readout of solid-state quantum bits. The student will design and perform…

Developing Automated Speech Annotation Methods

Supervisory Team:
  • Beena Ahmed (beena.ahmed@unsw.edu.au)
  • Mostafa Shahin (m.shahin@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Digital Signal Processing

Description of field of research:

Recent advances in speech science mean that applications of automatic speech recognition (ASR) have become essential attributes of mainstream mobile devices and consumer electronics. Voice assistants and speech biometrics all developed from large…

Electrostatic Modelling of Silicon Qubit Devices

Supervisory Team:
  • Chris Escott (c.escott@unsw.edu.au)
  • Andre Saraiva (a.saraiva@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Computing

Description of field of research:

Adapting industrial CMOS technology to silicon-CMOS quantum dot qubit device fabrication is a promising road towards full-scale quantum computers. Devices currently used for successful demonstration of 1- and 2-qubit gates possess strong similarities…

Matching Algorithms with Distributional Constraints

Supervisory Team:
  • Haris Aziz (haris.aziz@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Algorithms
  • Game theory

Description of field of research:

Centralized matching market design is one of the success stories of algorithmic game theory. This project concerns two-sided matching that captures the setting where students have preferences over schools, schools have priorities over students, and the…

Next Generation Biomedical Technologies

Supervisory Team:
  • Susann Beier (s.beier@unsw.edu.au)
  • Ray Tapabrata (t.Ray@adfa.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Biomedical Flow and Devices

Description of field of research:

There is a high demand for mechanical engineers to develop and improve medical devices and to understand underlying biomedical fluid mechanics principals. During your Taste of Research placement you will have the opportunity to be exposed to a range of…

Refinement Types for Cogent

Supervisory Team:
  • Christine Rizkallah (c.rizkallah@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Programming Languages and Formal Methods

Description of field of research:

Cogent is a linearly-typed functional programming language implemented in Haskell for writing trustworthy and efficient systems code. It has a certifying compiler that produces C code, a shallow embedding in the Isabelle/HOL theorem prover, and an…

Software-defined Radio for Next Generation MODEM Designs

Supervisory Team:
  • Jinhong Yuan (J.Yuan@unsw.edu.au)
  • Yixuan (Shane) Xie (yixuan.xie@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Wireless Communications

Description of field of research:

Next generation (6G) Wireless communications or IoT Communications have been recognised as a key enabler for the future digital society. This project aims to develop innovative solutions including OTFS modulation for communications over high mobility…

Sunlight-driven Carbon Dioxide Conversion to Fuels

Supervisory Team:
  • Emma Lovell (e.lovell@unsw.edu.au)
  • Jason Scott (jason.scott@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Sustainable Chemical Engineering and Catalysis

Description of field of research:

The conversion of carbon dioxide into value-added products, such as methane, is favourable from both an environmental and economic perspective. However, the methanation of carbon dioxide is typically an energy intensive process, requiring temperatures…

Temperature-Dependent Photoluminescence Measurements of Solar Cells

Supervisory Team:
  • Ziv Hameiri (ziv.hameiri@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Photovoltaics

Description of field of research:

Photovoltaic (PV) solar cells are the cheapest energy source in the history (check IEA latest report). This has been achieved by careful characterisation of the cells and detailed loss analysis.

We can still improve solar cell and push them to…