Advertised Taste of Research areas

Engineering 2nd and 3rd year students can apply for a project in the below advertised research areas.

If you are interested in this topic, please contact the relevant supervisor via email and discuss your interest – please introduce yourself and attach both your CV and transcript in the email.

We strongly encourage you to contact the relevant supervisor before the 11th of November, to give your supervisor and yourself sufficient time to formulate a sound project plan. This is mandatory and must be submitted as part of your application.

007 Bond, De-Bond and Re-Bond Reversible Thermoplastic Adhesives Using Magnetic Particle and Magnetic Induction Heating

Supervisory Team:
  • Dr May Lim (m.lim@unsw.edu.au)
  • Prof Chun Wang (chun.h.wang@unsw.edu.au)
  • A. Prof Victoria Timchenko (v.timchenko@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Advanced Material Engineering

Description of field of research:

Reversible thermoplastic adhesives that can bond, de-bond and re-bond on-demand hold great potential in numerous applications where bonded structures need to be dissembled and reassembled rapidly based on operational demands. It has many useful…

A Strategy-game Approch to Solving Logic Formulas

Supervisory Team:
  • Abdallah Saffidine (a.saffidine@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Algorithms
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Theory

Description of field of research:

After decades of engineering, Satisfiability (SAT) and Answer Set Programming (ASP) solvers can now address tasks involving millions of variables. However, the expressivity of these modeling tools is limited and Quantified Boolean Formulas (QBF) were…

An Adaptive Brain-Robot Fine-grain Controlling System with Low Cost EEG Headset

Supervisory Team:
  • Lina Yao (lina.yao@unsw.edu.au)
  • Chaoran Huang (chaoran.huang@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Brain Computer Interface
  • Machine Learning

Description of field of research:

Recent robotics technology advancement extended human reachabilities and boosted productivities, while effective human-robot communication can be critical. On the other hand, preliminary works on Brain-Computer Interface demonstrate propitious results…

Analysis of Nanoparticles for Remediation of Contaminated Lands

Supervisory Team:
  • Denis O'Carroll (d.ocarroll@unsw.edu.au)
  • Adele Jones (adele.jones1@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Environmental Engineering

Description of field of research:

Groundwater is of immense importance for personal and industrial use in Australia and throughout the world as such protection of this resource is essential to the health and well-being of Australians. Historically, the subsurface was thought to act as a…

Automatically Creating NP-completeness Reductions

Supervisory Team:
  • Abdallah Saffidine (a.saffidine@unsw.edu.au)
  • Serge Gaspers (serge.gaspers@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Algorithms
  • Artificial Intelligence
  • Theory

Description of field of research:

The field of computational complexity studies how to build efficient algorithms as well as what makes some tasks fundamentally harder to achieve than others. This field is also host to one of the most famous computer science question, P vs. NP. Two…

Bubble Coalescence in Non-ionic Surfactant Solutions in the Presence of Salt

Supervisory Team:
  • Ghislain Bournival (g.bournival@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Mineral Processing

Description of field of research:

Froth flotation is the most used process in the mineral processing industry for concentrating minerals. It is fundamentally used to separate valuable particles from unwanted gangue. Valuable particles, which are rendered hydrophobic with the use of…

Carbon-based catalysts for electrochemical H2O2 generation

Supervisory Team:
  • Zhaojun Han (zhaojun.han@unsw.edu.au)
  • Xunyu Lu (xunyu.lu@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Energy

Description of field of research:

Low-cost and efficient catalysts for on-site production of valuable chemicals, such as H2O2, is of great interest in chemical industry. In this project, carbon-based catalysts, particularly vertical graphene, will be implemented for electrochemical H2O2…

Characterisation of Oxide Quality for Silicon Quantum Dot Devices

Supervisory Team:
  • Andrew Dzurak (a.dzurak@unsw.edu.au)
  • Wee Han Lim (wee.lim@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Computing

Description of field of research:

Due to their similarity to conventional CMOS devices and their ability to leverage existing industrial technology and know-how, quantum dot devices in silicon hold immense potential for the realisation of full-scale quantum computers. In these MOS…

Cryogenic Electronics for Quantum Computing

Supervisory Team:
  • Andrea Morello (a.morello@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Quantum Engineering

Description of field of research:

The research pertains the testing, operation and characterisation of an amplifier chain designed to operate at cryogenic (below 1 kelvin) temperatures, and used for the real-time readout of solid-state quantum bits. The student will design and perform…

Developing Automated Speech Annotation Methods

Supervisory Team:
  • Beena Ahmed (beena.ahmed@unsw.edu.au)
  • Mostafa Shahin (m.shahin@unsw.edu.au)
Research Area:
  • Digital Signal Processing

Description of field of research:

Recent advances in speech science mean that applications of automatic speech recognition (ASR) have become essential attributes of mainstream mobile devices and consumer electronics. Voice assistants and speech biometrics all developed from large speech…